# LICENSING, HEALTH AND SAFETY AND GENERAL PURPOSES COMMITTEE

Tuesday, 25 May 2010

<u>Present:</u> Councillor S Taylor (Chair)

Councillors G Ellis S Niblock

K Wood WJ Davies
T Anderson J Salter
I Lewis R Wilkins

#### 1 MEMBERS' CODE OF CONDUCT - DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

Members were asked to consider whether they had any personal or prejudicial interests in connection with any item(s) on the agenda, and if so, to declare them and state what they were.

No such declarations were made.

#### 2 MINUTES

The Committee was requested to receive the minutes of the meeting held on 22 March, 2010.

With regard to minute 33, the Licensing Manager reported that a special meeting would need to be held to deal with this matter.

#### Resolved -

- (1) That the minutes of the meeting held on 22 March 2010 be approved as a correct record.
- (2) That a special meeting of this Committee be arranged before the end of July 2010.

#### 3 APPOINTMENT OF VICE-CHAIR

The Director of Law, HR and Asset Management requested that a Vice-Chair be appointed for 2010/11.

On a motion by Councillor Anderson and seconded by Councillor Wood, it was -

<u>Resolved</u> - That Councillor Gerry Ellis be appointed Vice-Chair of this Committee for 2010/11.

## 4 APPOINTMENT OF LICENSING PANEL

The Director of Law, HR and Asset Management reported that Standing Order 33(1) required that Committees should keep the need for panels under review and, in particular, the position must be reviewed at the first meeting of a Committee in each municipal year. He set out the terms of reference of the Licensing Panel and indicated that if it was to be retained in 2010/11 with seven members, the allocation of those places would be 3 Conservative; 2 Labour and 2 Liberal Democrat.

### Resolved -

- (1) That the Licensing Panel be re-appointed for 2010/2011 with the terms of reference identified and to include the power to license persons to collect for charitable and other causes.
- (2) That the following members be appointed to serve on the Licensing Panel in 2010/2011:-

	Members	Deputies
3 Conservative Councillors	Sue Taylor (Chair)	Gerry Ellis
	Kate Wood	Denis Knowles
	Tom Anderson	Cherry Povall
		Paul Hayes
		Peter Johnson
		Wendy Clements
		Geoffrey Watt
		Peter Kearney
2 Labour Councillors	Bill Davies (s)	R L Abbey
	John Salter	Pat Glasman
		C Meaden
		B Kenny
		G Davies
		J Crabtree
		H Smith
		D Roberts
2 Liberal Democrat	Steve Niblock (s)	Ann Bridson
Councillors	Bob Wilkins	Alan Brighouse
		Phil Gilchrist
		Tom Harney
		Mark Johnston
		Dave Mitchell
		Peter Reisdorf
		Pat Williams

#### 5 **ANY OTHER BUSINESS**

Councillor Steve Niblock suggested that Panels be held on Fridays.

Resolved - That this be noted.